Melbourne Period Project

Recently, I was honoured enough to have an opportunity to interview Donna from Melbourne Period Project, an organisation dedicated to providing care, support and sanitary products to homeless women & trans men. I was super excited to learn more about the works of the organisation through the interview, but I was unaware of the incredible impact my interview could have.

The interview started off with a general discussion on the organisation, moving through the recent rural expansion of the project and how social media has assisted the Melbourne Period Project in gaining a following and a solid team of volunteers. However, it was the story that Donna included that really touched me, and many of my fellow RWAV team.

Donna outlined a story of a woman of whom received a period pack on Swanston St. She had been recently released from prison and was due to have access with her children the next day. However, her period was due and she knew that due to the lack of products and money she had, she would be forced to steal sanitary supplies. This would have lead to her being arrested if caught, meaning she wouldn’t be able to see her children and would most likely end up back in jail. This story really captured the wider impact of the project. By that woman receiving a pack, she didn’t have to steal and got to see her kids. The thing is, the ‘what could have been’ side of this story is a reality for some homeless women- turning to theft in order to manage their period. A circumstance that isn’t thought of or discussed widely was highlighted and I was proud to have fostered the communication of the severity of the issues in which the Melbourne Period Project have dedicated themselves to.

The discussion of the expansion into rural areas also sparked interest after the interview went live to air today. Almost immediately after my interview had gone to air, the RRR Receptionist came looking for me, as a woman from Anglesea was dying to get in touch with Donna and learn more about she can help in the Great Ocean Road region.

This taught me 2 things- 1. that RRR listeners are different to your average commercial radio listener- they want to get involved; they are active

1. that RRR listeners are different to your average commercial radio listener- they want to get involved; they are active

and

2. my interview was able to spread the word about this amazing organisation and the incredible effects that their work has had.

In terms of the technical side of the interview, recording was smooth sailing. Rosie, Sally and I decided to help each other out with the interview process, to ease the first time interview nerves and to make the process a whole lot easier to manage. My editing process was time consuming but not terrible. Despite having to edit out a billion sections of me saying ‘ya know’, I hardly had an opportunity to touch many other parts of the interview, as Donna just had the right words in the right order, prompting me to ask the next question and giving me wonderful information to bounce back off.

For my first radio interview, I am pretty happy with the result. Not only was I able to learn things not only about the process of interviewing and the organisation itself, but I was able to pass on the word about the Melbourne Period Project and see the result of my broadcast.

A pretty pleased India signing off

 

Listen to my interview and read my annotations here:

https://soundcloud.com/user-607193157/india-interviews-donna-from-the-melbourne-period-project

 

 

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Melbourne Period Project

  1. […] most beneficial aspect of this class for me was the interviews conducted in the first half of the semester. My interview with Donna from Melbourne Period Project […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

