a night at the northcote social club

I had done a lot of music blogging on my old blog but for some reason I had struggled to get back into it, until last night, when my love for music was more than revived.

Last night I attended one of the most _____ (can’t even find the word it was so good) concerts I have ever attended. Methyl Ethel, a little indie rock band from Perth, tore up the Northcote Social Club and transformed the pieces into sparkly perfect unicorn confetti.  You may know the band for their songs Twilight Driving, which came in at no# 97  in the 2015 Hottest 100 countdown.

Being the early bird I am, we arrived at 7.30 on the dot. Why? Because the show was sold out and I didn’t want to wait in a queue for ever and ever. Oh and the perks of turning up early to a small gig? You get to chill in an empty room and what the band and groupies at the bar #notstalkerish

The crowd came in dribs and drabs, sitting down to listen to the likes of Ben Witt, a guitar master from Perth, and Jaala, a little ensemble from Melbourne who I currently have blasting through my Spotify (because their tunes are darn good).  The crowd had soon doubled as Methyl Ethel took the stage. For 60 minutes, the audience were placed in a dream state by the polished performance and infectious sound. Crowd chatter was minimum, feels from the beat were maximum. From one song to the next, the smooth bass, vocals full of emotion and feels hitting drums harmoniously an gracefully bounced off the walls of the room. Their sound on their album, Oh Inhuman Spectacle, is delightful, but their live performance left it in the dust and departed to another planet. Insanely incredible… I am struggling to put into words just how insanely good they were.

They are the perfect example of how unique and sensational the Australian music scene really is. $15 MORE than well spent: I discovered an awesome new band and most importantly got to witness Methyl Ethel wow Melbournians. I am calling it- watch this space- Methyl Ethel are a force to be reckoned with. Their crowd-pleasing rock vibes are authentic and contagious.

Make your day by indulging in these incredible tunes…

Twilight Driving

Obscura

Idée Fixe 

Rogues

Sweet Waste

Oh hell, just go and buy every single one of their songs, you will not regret it.

 

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “a night at the northcote social club

  1. […] bouncing off the back of last weeks little rant about my night out at the Methyl Ethel concert, I thought I would make today’s blog all about […]

    Like

Leave a comment